The world's first service club, the Rotary Club of Chicago, Illinois, USA, was formed on 23 February 1905 by Paul P. Harris, an attorney who wished to recapture in a professional club the same friendly spirit he had felt in the small towns of his youth. The name "Rotary" derived from the early practice of rotating meetings among members' offices.

Rotary's popularity spread throughout the United States in the decade that followed; clubs were chartered from San Francisco to New York. By 1921, Rotary clubs had been formed on six continents, and the organization adopted the name Rotary International a year later.

Thiensville-Mequon Rotary Club's Honorary Paul Harris Fellows

During most years, $1000 is contributed to the Rotary International Foundation in honor of one of our club members. This award is granted to a club member for his/her outstanding record of selfless service to others. The funds of the Rotary International Foundation are used worldwide for worthy international service projects.


Conrad J. Plautz 1997 Charles A. Winnemann
1979 Rudolph Peters 1998 Herb Hillman
1980 Theodore D. Elbe 1999 William C. Ronzheimer
1983 Harry C. Steffen 2000 Stanford L. Smith
1984 Theodore O. Liebscher 2001 David M. O'Connor
1985 Harry J. Schmit 2002 Karl V. Hertz
1986 Merton V. Campbell 2002 Theodore C. Egelhoff
1987 Loyal B. Wells 2003 Frank Bolz
1988 Ralph J. Huiras 2004 Ted Weirather
1989 Ned Kellner 2005 Anthony Von Rueden
1990 Wilfred J. Ross 2006 Ramon MacFarlane
1991 John R. Wiese 2007 Roger Kirgues
1992 Robert R. Jacobs 2008 Dianne Robertson
1993 Ray N. Reuter 2009 Doug Hansen
1994 Richard E. McNabb 2010 Stanford L. Smith
1995 Harry Thompto 2011 Shelley Weston
1995 Jack Vanderspool 2012 Greg Huffman
1996 Gregory Custer 2013 Todd Davis
Bruce Rowe
Andrew Petzold
Rob Holtz
George Witte

Thiensville-Mequon Rotary Club's Polio Plus Paul Harris Fellows

During the late 1980s and early 1990s, The Rotary Foundation was kicking off its efforts to eradicate polio world-wide.  There was a world-wide effort to recognize each $1000 donation to the polio eradication efforts as Polio Plus Paul Harris Fellows. The following Rotarians donated to this campaign.

Frank Bolz Dick Johannes
Merton Campbell Ned Kellner
Gregory (Sandy) Custer Dick McNabb
Ted Elbe John Mikkelson
Dan Gibb Karle Naggs
Joseph Haen Bill Ross
Peter Hatzinger Stanford Smith
Karl Hertz Bob Sobczak
Ralph Huiras Wally Sommer
Bob Jacobs Charles Walker

Thiensville-Mequon Rotary Club's Community Paul Harris Fellows

Occasionally, The Thiensville-Mequon Rotary Club recognizes a non-rotarian community volunteer by making a donation to The Rotary Foundation in their name.

2000 Neil Willenson
2001 Ted Egelhoff

Thiensville-Mequon Rotary Club's Other Paul Harris Fellows

Of course, since The Rotary Foundation is able to take donations for more than just the foregoing special campaigns, we have had many of our Rotarians make annual donations and they receive a Paul Harris award when their cumulative donations reach $1000. Each of the following Rotarians have donated at least $1000 or had the funds donated on their behalf by another. 

Linda Bendix Ellen MacFarlane (2)
Holly Bern Ramon MacFarlane (3)
Fred Bock Jay Metzler
Frank Bolz Van Mobley
John Box David O'Connor (3)
Bob Briese Connie Pukaite
Merton Campbell (3) John Riley
Michael Casey Bruce Rowe (2)
Gregory (Sandy) Custer (4) Stan Smith (4)
Stephen Derfel Ed Stone
Dan Gannon Bob Sobczak
Karl Hertz (6) Justin Strom
Greg Huffman (7) Ted Weirather
Ralph Huiras Loyal Wells
Marc Jorgensen Shelley Weston (2)
Tom Johnson Jack Wiese (2)
Roger Kirgues (2) Jim Wilke
John Koloske
Todd Davis
Herbert Hillman
Richard Johannes
Andrew Petzold
Tony Von Rueden
George Witte
​William Hart
Robert Jacobs
Karle Naggs
Diane Robertson
Greg Sommersberger
Tim Vertz

Thiensville-Mequon Rotary Club's Paul Harris Benefactors

A Paul Harris Benefactor is a person who has included The Rotary Foundation in their estate planning documents and advised The Rotary Foundation of this potential gift. 

Karl V. Hertz
Ramon MacFarlane
Ted Weirather