The Mequon-Thiensville Town Center Gateway

Presented by Authors: Sandy Custer and Stan Smith
In 1999, Mayor Christine Nuernberg appointed a Blue Ribbon Visioning Committee to make recommendations for the future of Mequon.  Part of this initiative was a city-wide survey sent out in 2001 including one question asking if residents supported the idea of establishing a joint town center with the Village of Thiensville.  It was a pleasant surprise that a clear majority was in favor of this initiative and a Town Center Committee was established.  It consisted of community leaders from both Mequon and Thiensville plus the M/T Chamber of Commerce.  This committee included Rotarians Bob Blazich, Van Mobley, Stan Smith, and Nancy Witte-Dycus with city and village support from other Rotarians: Mayor Christine Nuernberg, Village Administrator Dianne Robertson and Village President Karl Hertz.
The Rotary Riverwalk was one of the first Town Center initiatives and had additional Rotarian members in leadership roles including Sandy Custer, Chris Frommel, Herb Hillman, Greg Huffman, Roger Kirgues, Roger Reinemann, and Ted Weirather as well as donations from numerous Rotarians.
Over the years, as the Town Center was developed, it was determined that some sort of a Gateway feature would play a key role on the river at the intersection of Mequon and Cedarburg Roads. A committee was appointed, comprised of citizens and staff members of both communities to design and create the project.  After the design was approved, it was determined that fundraising and construction of the project would be simplified if it was led by the Thiensville/Mequon Rotary Foundation.  Rotarians Tim Carr, Dan Gannon, Stan Smith, Herb Hillman, Tim Vertz, Connie Pukaite, Steve Peterman and Sandy Custer were leaders in the effort.  Now completed, the project has been fully funded.
The Thiensville/Mequon Rotary Club was a leading donor, with large donations over the past three years.  Many members find their names on the donor wall.